fsu seal Physics at Florida State University
Keen Building Research at FSU PhysicsFaculty and Staff at FSU PhysicsGraduate studies at FSU PhysicsUndergraduate study at FSU PhysicsFSU Physics ResourcesFSU Physics Alumni
spacer spacer

Main Page

Physics Directory

Adams, Todd
Askew, Andrew
Beekman, Christianne
Berg, Bernd
Blessing, Susan
Boebinger, Gregory
Bonesteel, Nicholas
Brooks, James
Cao, Jianming
Capstick, Simon
Chiorescu, Irinel
Collins, David
Cottle, Paul
Crede, Volker
Dobrosavljevic, Vladimir
Duke, Dennis
Eugenio, Paul
Gao, Hanwei
Gorkov, Lev
Hill, Stephen
Hoeflich, Peter
Huffenberger, Kevin
Lind, David
Manousakis, Efstratios
Murphy, Jeremiah
Ng, Hon-Kie
Okui, Takemichi
Owens, Joseph
Piekarewicz, Jorge
Prosper, Harrison
Reina, Laura
Rikvold, Per Arne
Riley, Mark
Roberts, Winston
Schlottmann, Pedro
Shaheen, Shahid
Tabor, Samuel
Vafek, Oskar
Van Winkle, David
Volya, Alexander
Wahl, Horst
Wiedenhover, Ingo
Xiong, Peng
Yang, Kun
Zhou, Huan-Xiang




spacer spacer spacer spacer


James Brooks

Department Chair and Professor


Prof. Brooks received his Ph.D. in Physics from the University of Oregon in 1973. He is part of the BT&T Molecular Crystal Group. Research activities of the BT&T include the experimental and computational investigation of fundamental mechanisms in low dimensional and anisotropic materials, including both organic and inorganic molecular conductors.

Such methods as electrical transport, angular dependence, Fermiology, high pressure, uniaxial stress, FIR, IR, and mm wave spectroscopy, NMR, visible optics, magnetization, specific heat, etc. are employed in these studies. DC magnetic fields to 33 T, pulsed magnetic fields to 60 T, and flux compression fields up to 700 T are employed, together with low temperatures, are also employed. Pressure and stress dependent band structure calculations are also performed to address complementary experimental investigations. At present there is only one faculty member, 5 graduate students and one post-doctoral in the group. The group is based at both the Florida State University campus and at the NHMFL site where the BT&T laboratory and the high magnetic field facility is located.

James Brooks
contact 316 & 616 KEN
phone (850) 64Office 5-0037, Lab 4-2836
web Visit James Brooks's personal web site


line3 line2